The Police Department exists to achieve a safer community for the citizens of Laurel by providing excellent public safety services and involving our community as partners. Laurel’s officers and staff value integrity, innovation, leadership, respect, service, education, accountability and teamwork. Community policing is one of many strategies utilized by the Laurel Police Department to achieve a safer community. Innovative methods and technology are used to enhance communication and performance as well as to coordinate with neighboring local governments for improved safety.

Tyrone Stewart

Stewart Tyrone copy
Police Chief

Physical Address
317 S. Magnolia Street
Laurel, MS 39441

Our mailing address:
City of Laurel
Police Department
P.O. Box 647
Laurel, MS 39441

Phone: (601) 425-4711
Email: tstewart@laurelms.com

Deputy Chief Billy Chandler
Phone: (601) 428-6543
Email: bchandler@laurelms.com
Cpt. William Sparrow
Phone: (601) 428-4306
Email: wsparrow@laurelms.com
Cpt. John Cox
Executive Personnel
Phone: (601) 428-6537
Email: tcox@laurelms.com
Cpt. Shane Valentine
Phone: (601) 428-6417
Email: svalentine@laurelms.com